The Closing Script

image

The chugging of the train
Had registered in my brain
So I had to take notice
When the engines made that hiss

It was time to depart
From the land after my heart
The same place of my birth
That I had prayed would see my death

I had wanted my bones here
And I waited every year
For the bounty and the joy
Like a wide-eyed rabid schoolboy

Alas, a man must leave his home
And his jeweled comfort zone
In search of a foreign throne
Or die while trying alone

So, fare thee well, kind land
Witness now my truest hand
And I will miss you every day
But thusly, I must find my way

-brunus 12-31-2015

Leave a Reply

