The Spirit Mantra

For the spirit that dances
In the everlasting ashes
Heed, my friend, heed

I have cast a flame
Among mankind
And Lo, I am guarding it
Until it blazes
I watch it keenly
With sleepless eyes
Until it rise
And consumes us all
I have sent a fire
And I watch it die
For he who finds life
Has found a dying thing
Look upon the undying
And witness the brazen
Bravery that they display
Riding eternal
On the chrome ships of Fenrir
Riding eternal
Shiny and chrome
On the kind warboats to Valhalla
Bear me thence
On saddle and strife
For only battle
Can make a true combat soldier

I have sat in the gatherings
Of men like myself
I have sat among my fellows
And listened to them speak
I have endured their lectures
And found them drunken
I have sat in the gatherings
Of men like myself
Speech and flowery oratory
and prose and handsome rhyme
I have heard them speak
Yet I find them drunken
Drunken of the wine
Of the harlot
Of yore
Drunken of the sorrow
Of the dying dragon
In the castle of greed
And kingly avarice
Drunken of self righteousness
And rigorous selfishness
While the essence begs
For another chance at eminence
Yet I find their company drunken
I have sat in their war rooms
Where they sponsor wanton murder
Heaps and heaps of dead flesh
Carrion for the ravens’ brood
I analysed the belligerents
And saw God on both sides
I sat among their elite
The thinkers of the time
Who made music with ideas
And made song with reason
I perused their rhetoric
And I found them drunken

A man does this
And gains illumination
A man does this
And becomes an angel
A man walks forth
Stretches his hand
And kisses the sun
With an obelisk
Stabbing his heart
Smiling at the sun
Through burned eyes
A man does this
And becomes an angel
A man breaks
A vow that he swore
Never to make
Yet in his soul
He feels bereft
Of God’s attention
Kissed by the teeth
Of venomous reptile
He lies
And becomes an angel
A man does this
And lives forever

Let not your heart be swayed
Like the palm
In the breeze
For it is the sway
That breaks the bough
The strongest oak
Learns to bend
Bend only so far
Then pushes back
Let not your heart be troubled
For it is the trouble
That kills the faint of heart
So wear the mask
Of feigned righteousness
And seeming calm
Wear the cloak
Of serene quietus
And beckon
The apparitions that calm
The bellows of the sea
And therein find
Your inner chill

The earth belongs
To everything that is in it
Including the evil spirits
And the media they inhabit
Including the silky tongue
Of the most inscrutable vermin
The earth belongs
To them all
The earth is kind
To beast and man
And she bears this burden
Without so much as a grunt

Lo, I have cast a fire
Among mankind
And I watch it
Until it blazes
and consumes us all
for he who has found life
Has found a dying thing

Leave a Reply

