Toast

image

Here’s to those who wish us well
And those who don’t can go to hell

From across the hall we smile
Decked in jewelry and wine in hand
Grinning through ivory teeth all the while
With eyes as warm as desert sand
The cheer is true, I presume
And we love the music of our boasts
So with a clink, let revelry resume
But first, let me propose this toast

Here is to those who wish us well
And those who don’t can go to hell

Raise those glasses high as us
Out with hate and pour love in
For the foe we lose is not a loss
Drown in beer and dance in sin
For we survived amidst the strife
The hurt and slaying and blood and gore
And even a separation from a snivelling wife
And we are happy for ever more

Here is to those who wish us well
And those who don’t… well, bloody hell

The hell with those who wish us ill
I curse their souls with a thousand hexes
I seek just peace and quiet and chill
But this seems to make others vex
To hell with their fake smiles and dopey grins
And false sincerities and cloaked swords
And slopey shoulders and slobbering chins
They try to hide this in flowery words
But I see this, oh, yes I do
They act like they care and I accept the cabaret
But when the cake is baked for who
It may fall, it won’t matter what I said
So raise your glasses, my false friends
Till the stench of the wine reaches the coast
Smile and wish me well till the world ends
And drink to this now famous toast

This is to those who wish Browne well
And those who don’t can go to hell

Leave a Reply

